1990 Marin Pine Mountain

February 15th 2014

I spotted this ’90 Marin Pine Mountain for sale at 11.45pm one Friday night. I had an overwhelming urge to call the seller right there and then, but somehow managed to wait until the next morning. And it was still for sale. I headed over to Seaforth that lunchtime to be greeted by a top bloke (English bloke) called Paul. (Hi Paul, thanks for the tea!)

1990 Marin Pine Mountain 03

Paul’s father bought the bike new from Evans in Kingston-Upon-Thames (I know that store well, I used to live in Wimbledon). Anyway, Paul later adopted it and brought it with him when he moved to Australia.

1990 Marin Pine Mountain 05

As you’d expect, it has a few non-original parts but most of it is still there and in pretty good shape. I’m particularly happy that the neon orange can still make my eyes water after all these years.

1990 Marin Pine Mountain 01

I’m still sourcing a few new old stock parts for this, and having the wheels rebuilt with a pair of unused black Araya RM-20 rims I found in the US. A pair of Panaracer Smoke and Dart tyres is waiting, as is an old pair of Deore DX pedals. Still looking for a suitable saddle though.

Gotta love an old neon Marin.

2 thoughts on “1990 Marin Pine Mountain

  1. Hi! I have one Marin like these! I’m starting the restoration process, so I would like to know if you have parts and stickers for it.
    Thank you
    Luiz

    Like

    • Hey Luiz. Any parts you need can be found on Ebay. Search for the Shimano code number (stamped into the part) and if you can’t find one locally, look on overseas Ebay (eg. US or UK). I didn’t replace the decals on this bike but search for Retrodecals, they’ll have them. Ride safe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

