1996 Trek Mt. Track XC 870

September 14th 2014

This ’96 Trek popped up for sale while I was at work one Sunday afternoon. I contacted the seller, a very nice lady by the name of Cat, and we arranged for me to pop over that evening.

Trek 870 01

I think the bike had belonged to Cat’s ex. She told me ‘he’ had bought it new with the intention of ferrying the kids around, but ‘he’ had only ridden it three times before ‘he’ had lost interest and ‘he’ left it in the garage and forgot about it.

Trek 870 02

And I believe her. Once the dust and muck had been hosed off and the rack, reflectors and cycle computer had been removed, this bike looks almost new – and it’s completely original. It has a full STX groupset, Selle San Marco saddle, it even has the original Trek Kahuna front and rear tyres, which are in excellent condition.

Trek 870 06

I think this must be another Asia Pacific model because I can’t find a Mt. Track 870 in the Trek catalogues. The colour (Dry Ice Red) is from an 850, but the True Temper frame and STX components are from a 920/930. Which leaves me thinking it’s a hybrid between the two, built for the Asia Pacific / Australian market.

Trek 870 05

If you’re wondering how a bike looks after 16+ years in a garage, check out the photo below. I’ve seen worse. Actually, all this bike really needed was a good wash (twice), half an hour of basic maintenance, air in the tyres, and the frame and fork going over with a paint restorer. Easy-peasy!

1996? Trek 870 03

3 thoughts on “1996 Trek Mt. Track XC 870

  1. Great bike. I bought it off you. It has not given me any trouble at all. Runs perfectly. Such a good bike in the city. Not so good for long rides, because the frame is a fraction small.

    Like

Leave a Reply

