1995 Gary Fisher Tassajara

December 4th 2014

Advertised as ‘Mountain bike’, this 1995 Tassajara was pretty easy to spot hiding among the junk-cluttered small ads. This is the photo from the ad, which described it as a Gerry Fisher (Gary’s brother, perhaps?).

Tassajara 01

I was the first visitor to view the ad (each ad has a visitor counter) and after a quick chat with the seller I picked it up on my way home from work.

The seller was a very friendly lady called Dana, living on Sydney’s northern beaches. The family was moving back to the Czech Republic – and having a clear out. They’d bought the bike a year earlier, so were unable to tell me anything about its history.

$_20-2

The Tassajara wasn’t anywhere near the top of the 1995 Fisher range, but these old steel-framed bikes are lovely to ride and I’m happy to give it a new lease of life. It’s a decent size frame (my size) and the paint looks to be in good condition. A little restorer and polish should bring it back to life.

The tyres and saddle are later additions, but an easy fix. I have a pair of original fitment amberwall Tioga Psychos (a K and a TT) at home. The wheels aren’t a pair, but I have a pair of period-correct Mavics at home which will suit it nicely. I have a period-correct Gary Fisher saddle too. What are the chances? (Actually, this is my fourth Fisher, so the chances are quite good.) Other than that, all it needs is a really good wash or two.

$_20-1

The hexagonal Gary Fisher branded grips are well worn and I’m unlikely to find another pair, but Bontrager or Gripshift replacements are easy to come by.

So, a 19-year old pillar box red Fisher in my size: I’ll take it!

2 thoughts on “1995 Gary Fisher Tassajara

  1. I bought a Tassahara in 2008 when I first moved to Calgary Alberta in Canada, a large hilly city with many trails. I think it was a 1997 but it might have been an even earlier model (it was red). It was beat up and worn but I fell in love with Mountain biking riding that old horse. I’d never had a real mountain bike before, just department store crap. It was a medium and I required a L but I still enjoyed it. I’d love to find a large Tassahara and relive those days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

